Weight Loss Journal – Part 5

India felt so different maybe because I was staying with my in-laws. It is a good feeling to have so many people around. I was staying with my husband and my in-laws, along with a cook and her daughter (my mom-in-law kinda took their responsibility on herself, she looks after them). My diet changed because it was all rice related items and oily stuff too. Initially, I enjoyed all the foods since I had missed it all so much. Then it was time to get back to working in my weight loss. 

With the new place, the diet and exercise had to be adjusted accordingly. There was no gym (which was walking distance) or even a treadmill. Even before exploring options in the surrounding area, I decided to use what was there. The house that we stayed in was my husband’s ancestral place, it was huge with a huge courtyard in front of the house. So, first thing I did was get back to walking. Every evening starting from around 6pm, I used to walk around the courtyard, for at least an hour. I used to walk so much that I would be sweating. I think that only when you sweat, it feels like I’ve worked out. You need to get your heart racing. This took care of some form of activity for me. Plus, my diet may have been varied but I watched what I ate. And I stopped eating anything after 6pm. It may not work for all, but it worked for me. If I really felt hungry, I would eat a bowl of oats or some fruits. But mainly, I made sure I ate nothing heavy in the evening. And over the course of a year again, I lost around 8 more kilos. From 88kgs, I dropped down to around 80kgs. But then, I realized that I had to up my game. 

I started exploring nearby gyms and then it hit me that I always wanted to try Zumba. I searched around for a bit and I found a studio which offered variety of workouts for a reasonable rate. I joined it and never looked back. The studio offered Zumba, Yoga, Aerobics, Calisthenics… All that was new to me. I had never been that active in my life before. Trust me, the first week that I tried all the workouts, every part of my body was hurting. I was not sure if I’ll be able to continue. But, it made me feel so good that I was there again and again, everyday, 5 days a week. I lost only around 2 kgs but I could make out the changes in my body. It was toning up. My tummy was getting flatter, my arms were getting some shape,my thighs were getting toned. This all happened all through a year.

I finally hit 78kgs. It keeps varying around 77-79kgs. But it feels good. That was my schedule till the beginning of this year. This year, around April, we moved from Mangalore to Bangalore. Right now, I’m still working on developing a good diet and workout regimen. I have gained around a kilo more, at 79kg now. It is tough with every new change to figure out a new plan. But I hope to find something that excites me. One thing has changed over the years. The girl who was never into any activity has now slowly developed an addiction towards fitness. I can feel it slowly fading away, but I have worked so hard to lose weight that I will work hard to maintain it.

Thanks for reading this and being a part of my journey. Any thoughts, suggestions are always welcome. 

Please follow me on Instagram @anithaprabhu 

About Anitha Mallya
Find it from my blog :)

Leave a Reply

mybodymytime

The time is now.

StyleBySisters

livin' right.... fashion, food & fun

