Weight Loss Journal – Part 4

Yesterday I talked about the diet that I started following. With that, I was able to lose around 3-4 kgs. I believe that anyone can lose a little bit if excess weight just be dieting. But after that stage, working out is the only way to go. I have never been a runner in my whole life. I have never participated in any sports. Being tall, I was a shoo in for basketball, but I didn’t know how to dabble and run, so that didn’t workout. Being hefty all through my life, I’ve given importance to studies and neglected sports. 

Now when I thought of working out, I just couldn’t bring myself to jog at all. So, as I told, taking baby steps, I just started walking on the treadmill. Walking for almost half an hour, everyday. Then slowly I added working out on elliptical. Thank God for the apartment to have a spacious and well equipped gym. I basically tried all the machines there and found which I was comfortable with. I also used dumbells, to tone my arms. With this, slowly I was able to see the difference. My weight was going down and my confidence was going back up. I started to feel good about myself. With this workout and diet, I was able to lose, little by little. But some days, I could not see any difference in my weight. It happens. It takes time. Just stick to your workout. Instead of checking my weight daily, I started noting it weekly. That was a good idea. When I couldn’t  see daily changes I was sad. But over the week, I was losing. It may just be a kilo. But I was losing. That was important always. No matter how slow you lose or not lose for now, keeping up your workout is important. I did it because it made me feel good. After a stage, even if I couldn’t see any weight loss, I continued with my workout, because it made me feel fresh and free. Starting from 20 min on the treadmill, I went up to increase it to 45 min everyday. That too, at a good enough speed, where I was not running but walking rather fast. I would always build up a sweat. Initial few days, I was not able to walk much less climb 3 flights of stairs to my apartment. But this pain was good, it meant my body was tired yet ready to do it all again the next day. 

One more thing that I did was, every time I lost around 2-3 kgs, would stop working out for few days. I would see if my diet was good enough to maintain my weight, to check if the weight that I lost stayed lost. That is why, my weight loss took a long time. As I said, crash diet or workout, never works. But for me, this method worked. Even if I gained a few kgs back, I was back at the gym anyway. This break that I used to take, was also a result of us traveling around US and eating all the food (hello… Foodie here😂). But once I was back, I was able to workout and lose the weight that I gained quicker than before. 

Doing this regimen, I was able to lose around 10 kgs i.e, from 98 to 88 kgs approximately, in maybe a year. The weight loss was slow, just because I was a foodie. I am a foodie even now. 😄 It was time for us to leave US behind and get back to India. I was so excited and nervous. I was going to be staying with my in-laws for the first time. And this time, we were going to be settled in India for good. 

The challenges I faced after coming back is a whole another story. Please stay tuned for it. It’ll be up tomorrow. 

Thank you for reading and leave any comments or questions you have. I’ll definitely give you my opinion.

Also, follow me on Instagram @anithaprabhu 

About Anitha Mallya
Find it from my blog :)

Leave a comment

mybodymytime

The time is now.

StyleBySisters

livin' right.... fashion, food & fun