Weight Loss Journal – Part 2

Part 1 of this post was just the tip of the ice berg. I was happy and blissfully married. I had quit my job, moved to Tennesee, USA and was travelling around. The first couple of years was spent in exploring different cities and with that exploring new cuisines. I am a foodie and I loved having Thai, Chinese, Italian, American, Mediterranean…. etc. Weight was the last thing on my mind. 2 yrs down the line I had reached the height of my weight gain.

Getting married itself is a big change in life, add to it the change in location, lifestyle plus no job. These changes seemed good initially, but as the feeling began to sink in, I started getting into a weird mode. Being in America, away from home, not seeing any familiar faces, I started to get into depression. That led me to eat more. I am an emotional eater. When I’m happy, obviously, it’s a reason to eat. But for me, when I’m tensed I eat. When I’m sad, I eat. I had reached a stage where – If I had nothing to do, I used to eat. All this added on and on and at the end of 2 yrs, I had gone from 80 kgs to 98 kgs. I had gone from being overweight to being obese. I never thought I could reach that stage. I had accepted myself as a hefty but healthy girl. But at 98kgs, I couldn’t say that anymore. After 2 yrs, we toook a break and came back home, India. My family was shocked yet happy to see me. I had to return in 2 months, so during that time, I took my yearly blood test. I have somehow blocked majority of the results, but I remember the doctor saying “fatty liver”. That’s when I realised I was hefty, but no longer healthy.

I came back to America, into a new city, Dallas,TX. Again, being alone was a given. But this time, instead of spending my time eating, I decided to do something about my weight. We were looking for an apartment and for me having a beautiful kitchen plus a gym was mandatory. Once we settled in, I got back to my same old routine. I had just decided to do something. But I was not taking any action. I used to go shopping (who doesn’t like shopping for new clothes). I remember I used to cry and hate myself for not being able to fit in any cute clothes. My husband supported me all through this. Then he made me realise that something needs to be done, not just thinking, but putting my words into action. That was the kind of kick I needed to get started on losing weight.

You need to have the will power to do it and a good support system to help you when you get weak. For me, that was my husband, pushing me forward, telliing me it was possible. I had finally started going to the gym. But it was not easy, thinking is easy, doing it is just another huge task. That story will be here tomorrow. Keep reading.

Follow me on Twitter @anithamallya and on instagram @anithaprabhu

About Anitha Mallya
Find it from my blog :)

3 Responses to Weight Loss Journal – Part 2

  1. Shoba says:

    Hi Anitha,
    Visited your blog from pinterest and was reading around your posts ad then found that you are in Dallas…are you still here??? I live in Plano and was happy to see you from here., HAve you taken a breadk from blogging?
    Shobha

  2. Aditi says:

    Want to read more about your journey.
    Aditi
    http://www.sosaree.in

  3. Anitha Kamath says:

    I came across your blog and read weight loss story , just wanted to know what happened then….? Being an Amchi, I am having hardtime to stop eating rice and masla randayi. Fried ambado and fish are my weakness.
    Please do share if you lost weight and the way you did.

Leave a Reply

mybodymytime

The time is now.

StyleBySisters

livin' right.... fashion, food & fun

