Weight Loss Journal – Part 1

This is the post I’ve been meaning to write in a long time. I dread it cause it brings lots of memories back. But I need to put it here so that, down the line, when I need inspiration to lose weight again, I can reach out to my blog. This post will be a story about how I started my weight loss routine and how I am doing now. It will be lengthy so I think dividing it into parts is best. That’s why I named this post as a journal…. It is ongoing and it will vary….. but it will be updated.

I have been a hefty kid since my high school, but I remember my mom saying that I was thin growing up with long swan like neck. Well, in high school all I could see was developing a double chin. But I was happy with my weight, basically, least bothered. As you grow up, people tend to make you feel that you are not “the ideal, perfect girl”. Well, in my mind I was. I was not fat but plump. If I asked my friends, they said I looked fine because I had the height to carry the weight. I am 5’9″ tall. So, when I became a little overweight, all I could see was a healthy looking girl. I did not want to become size zero, I despised it.

When I was joining my first job in the IT industry right out of college, we had to get a medical certificate with our height, weight, birthmarks, blood group, allergies…. etc. The doctor there said my ideal weight should be around 76 kgs, but I was already 80kgs by then at the age of 22. I was least bothered. Then, I went on to various stages of weight gain and weight loss but I did not think about it much. The thought came when my mom started to search for marriage proposals. It was very painful procedure to have a guy and his family judge you by your looks and say to your face that you are fat or that “I fear you may become more fat”. By the time I was about to turn 25, I had found a perfect guy for me (rather, my mom got the proposal and passed it on to me and I gave approval). All in all, I was happily in love and he was least bothered about my weight and that made me all the more crazy about him. I did not measure my weight but by the time of the wedding I was still around 80 kgs.

The journey of weight gain started later on, after I quit my job and moved to USA immediately after marriage. That story will continue tomorrow.

Follow me on Twitter @anithamallya and on instagram @anithaprabhu

About Anitha Mallya
Find it from my blog :)

2 Responses to Weight Loss Journal – Part 1

  1. mybodymytime says:

    You have taken the first step you can do this

  2. Thank you. 🙂 You will be surprised after you read the rest of my story. But I always need and welcome moral support.

Leave a Reply

mybodymytime

The time is now.

StyleBySisters

livin' right.... fashion, food & fun

