Black Pepper Chicken

It’s been a while since I tried any new recipes. This recipe was not planned. I wanted to do the crispy chicken fry today and then, in the morning, I realized that I did not have enough oil for doing a shallow fry (Leaving for India in another few weeks, so no more stacking the pantry). So, I thought I could whip up something on my own. I have been loving the black pepper chicken I get from Bawarchi’s Indian Restaurant here in Irving. That is one Indian place that I enjoy when I miss home food. That led me to invent my own version of pepper chicken, spicy and all. I just went with my instincts (never knew I had one in cooking), added a little of this and a little of that and voila, black pepper chicken. That is one of the reasons the measurements mentioned below are just approximations.

image

Here’s what you need:

2-3 chicken breast fillets, chopped into bite sized pieces
1 small onion, sliced
1 small tomato, chopped
2-3 green chillies, finely chopped (alter per your taste)
A few sprigs of curry leaves
2 dry red chillies
1 tsp of ginger garlic paste
2 tsp of freshly ground pepper or pepper powder (you can add more or less as per your taste)
1/2 tsp of turmeric powder
1 tsp of soy sauce
1/2 tsp of curry powder
A few sprigs of coriander leaves to garnish
1 tsp of olive oil or any other kind
Salt to taste

Method:

1. Add 1 tsp of olive oil in a pan on the stove and keep the heat on medium.
2. Once hot, add onions, green chillies, curry leaves and red chillies. Roast for a while.
3. Once the onions soften up and turn translucent add in the ginger garlic paste and mix well.
4. Add the turmeric powder , soy sauce and half of the pepper powder.This way you get the roasted pepper taste. Sauté it all for about 2 min till the onions start turning brown (be careful not to burn anything, turn the stove to medium low if needed).
5. Add in the chicken pieces and roast for a while, till the water let out by the chicken is almost drying up. At this point, add some curry powder and remaining black pepper powder along with some salt.
6. When the chicken is cooked (or when you don’t see any pink chicken anymore) add tomatoes. Mix well and let the tomatoes get cooked. I kept the heat on medium low at this stage since I wanted to make sure the chicken absorbs all the flavor and does not get over cooked. I cut into a piece of chicken with my spatula to check if it is cooked and also to check the seasoning.
7. If everything is cooked and the seasoning is good, switch off the stove, add in the coriander leaves and serve hot.
image

Notes:
– I added 3 green chillies and it turned to be spicy. I do not mind spicy food, but you may want to adjust as per your taste.
– Since we are not adding any water, keep a good eye as to not burn the dish. If necessary, add little water or a little oil to keep it from burning.
– This is a dry dish and it can be eaten with rice and dal or chapatis.

If you tried this dish and liked it, give a comment. If you made any variations too, please do comment.
Follow me on Twitter @anithamallya and on Instagram @anithaprabhu.

About Anitha Mallya
Find it from my blog :)

3 Responses to Black Pepper Chicken

  1. Hena says:

    Hello, Are you really referring to the Bawarchi restaurant in Irving, TX? I live in Irving too! Small world!! 🙂

  2. This recipe looks really delicious and I cannot wait to try it out. I have a recipe for this dish as well, feel free to try it out yourself it’s here http://bbqmasterflorian.com/?p=60

Leave a Reply

mybodymytime

The time is now.

StyleBySisters

livin' right.... fashion, food & fun

LE ZOE MUSINGS

A Creative Lifestyle Blog KELLIE VAN

