Happy Mother’s Day

I am trying to come up with words to describe my Amma on Mother’s day. There is so much to write, I am running short of words. That is how, I guess, all the mom’s out there make us feel. But I don wanna write about all the mom’s out there. This one is for my Amma.

When I think of writing down the moments I had with my Amma, I remember the fights, the laughs, the gossips, the cries, the screams and more of the fights we had. ๐Ÿ™‚ Yes, we fought a lot, from a silly comb to a silly remote. Another reason for our fights – her criticism. Mom’s are the best critics. Even though she was right always, I used to hate being criticized. Frankly, who does like it?

I remember one incident. I was staying with my 2 room-mates while working in Mysore. I used to call my Amma daily. But one day, all 3 of us were so busy experimenting with our cooking, we had our phones in silent and stashed away in some corner of the house.The landlord’s daughter comes and tells me that my Amma had called them up to ask about me. I ran and checked my phone to see her missed calls. This was my first time away from home in a new place, all on my own. She was worried. She tried even my room-mates’ phones too. Just before calling up the cops, she called my landlord. ๐Ÿ˜› We fought again, but at the end, we all laughed it out. ๐Ÿ™‚

We had our share of tough times, a little early and unexpected. But I was surprised the way Amma handled it. All she could see were her kids and she always put our interests before hers. After Anna (Dad) passed away, she took care of the family very gently. She was new to many things. She had her losses, but she always fought back. It still was a man’s world out there, but she proved to everyone that she was tough. She had to be a lot more aggressive at times, but that was necessary to survive. She never made us feel like something was missing. Even though we missed Anna, she was there to make us feel secure. Till date, I do not know how she did it, how she had the strength to put all her feelings aside and just move on. That’s Amma’s magic. I remember her saying “We have been thrown in the ocean, even before we could learn how to swim. There is no other option than to learn to swim and survive.”

In Konkani: Udkantu udon jalla, attha haath paayu dhadoche ani veri pavche.

Today when I look back at all the time we had together, I can say that I am amazed by her. I am proud of Amma. One fine day, I hope to make her proud of me. I love you Amma, I miss you and I am glad that I am your daughter. Thank you for everything. ๐Ÿ™‚

About Anitha Mallya
Find it from my blog :)

2 Responses to Happy Mother’s Day

  1. Sree says:

    Nice dedication through this post Anitha ๐Ÿ™‚ Loved it ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Debbie Romero says:

    Amma sounds like a wonderful mother. I still have my mother and she was like that too.

Leave a Reply

mybodymytime

The time is now.

StyleBySisters

livin' right.... fashion, food & fun

LE ZOE MUSINGS

A Creative Lifestyle Blog KELLIE VAN

