Dal Palak

Currently, the only thing new in my life is food. I keep on trying new recipes. Being a new cook on the block, anything that comes out good lands in my facebook album. But the blog felt neglected, so here I am.

I have always loved Palak. I am not a big fan of Palak Paneer, but I do enjoy many other forms Palak is used in. Growing up, when my mom got Palak in her hands, it was either soup or Palak Ambat. Dev does not like the soup and as for Ambat, I did not like making coconut curries that often (considering how far and rare Indian stores are near our house in US).

Dal Palak

My friends shared some of their version of Dal Palak and finally, after many tries, I reached to one particular way I make it, which satisfied me and Dev too. 🙂

Ingredients:

Palak 1 and 1/2 cup approx or 1/4 Kg

Toor Dal 1 and 1/2 cups

Tomato 1 medium

Tamarind Pulp 1 tsp

Turmeric Powder a pinch

Salt to taste

For Seasoning:

Mustard Seeds 1 tsp

Cumin Seeds 1 tsp

Red Chillies 1-2

Garlic Cloves 3-4

Onion 1 medium

Curry Leaves

Oil

Method:

Cook toor dal with tomato and turmeric in the pressure cooker. Once done, transfer them into a pot and reheat the cooked dal mix. At this time, add in Palak and tamarind paste. Bring the dal and palak mix to a roaring boil until palak gets cooked and the raw taste of the tamarind is gone, then add in the salt as per taste.

For the seasoning, add oil, mustard seeds, cumin seeds. When mustard seeds start popping, add in the red chillies, curry leaves, garlic cloves and onions. Heat them in oil till garlic and the onions turn brown in color. Be careful, not to burn the rest of the ingredients. You can always do in batches. I do the seasoning in 2 rounds. First round = Oil + Mustard Seeds + Cumin Seeds + Red Chillies + Curry Leaves + Garlic. Second Round consists of the onions alone. 🙂 Pour the seasoning over the dal and mix well. Serve with rice. 🙂

Note:

1. While the dal is being cooked in the cooker, you can cook Palak separately with some water in another vessel and then mix them together.

2. Tamarind paste is mainly used to get some sourness for the dal. Hence, the quantity is less.

About Anitha Mallya
Find it from my blog :)

Leave a Reply

mybodymytime

The time is now.

StyleBySisters

livin' right.... fashion, food & fun

