Mom’s Special – Masala Puri

Running out of topics to write in my blog, I never thought I would resort to writing a recipe (me, of all the people) on my blog. I have never cooked anything before my marriage ( I don’t think making Maggi would be considered as cooking :P). Anyways, I am a foodie – be it a sweet pudding or a spicy curry. I remember one of my friend asking me once “Tell me one food item which you hate” and I was literally blank for 5 min. Yet, I did not have any answer. Now, after being in US, I think I am capable of naming a few (hopefully :)).

I love Chaats – all types, Dahi puri, Sev Puri, Pani Puri, Samosa Chaat, the list goes on. My mom has made most of the Chaats at home. The easiest one, I think, is Masala Puri.

Masala Puri with a Twist

First of all, the list of ingedrients:

For Masala:

Batani/ Dry Peas 2 cups (Soaked in water overnight)

Garlic Pods 2-3

Green Chillies 2-3

Jaggery 1 piece (I had small cubes of jaggery available – approx 1″ long stick)

Coriander Leaves few strings

Coriander Powder 1 tsp

Salt to taste

To complete the dish:

Sev to taste

Puri to taste

Onions 1 (finely chopped)

Method:

Have the Peas ready by soaking 2 cups in sufficient amount of water, overnight. Then, pressure cook the peas for 2 whistles or till they are mashed. In the blender blend together garlic, green chillies, coriander leaves along with a small portion of the mashed peas (The portion is just enough to help the ingredients blend together). Add the blended mix to the mashed peas (If the mashed peas is a thick mix, adjust by adding around 1 cup of water or to your desired consistency) and add salt, jaggery, coriander powder and bring the mix to a boil. That’s all for the masala.

To complete the dish, you can be creative in any way you want. Puris are usually preferred, but I use alternate items handy during the time.

Ideally, the way to present the dish is so – Take a bowl, place the Puris first, sprinkle sev and onions (as needed) over them and then pour the masala over.

Since I did not have Puris, I added my own twist. I used what was in my pantry – Boondi. Pour the masala into a bowl , add onions and boondi to the mix. We can use even the chips – basically anything crispy to go with the masala. But, some of them, when added to masala tend to lose the crispiness soon.

Serve it hot and enjoy. πŸ™‚

There, my first blog on food is complete. πŸ˜€ Please do try it sometime and comment.

About Anitha Mallya
Find it from my blog :)

3 Responses to Mom’s Special – Masala Puri

  1. krishnachandran says:

    Will try this one day Anitha. Photo looks good.. We had Bhoondi Raitha today.
    For how much you are selling this in Anitha’s Mess ??

    • Selling? hahaha… i’ll be glad to make it, whenever u come over. πŸ™‚ Btw, u know right who asked that question i mentioned in the blog πŸ˜›

      • krishnachandran says:

        Sorry, didn’t see ur comment. Are u referring to the question “Tell me one food item which you hate”. I guess its not me..I think its Sathya

Leave a Reply

mybodymytime

The time is now.

StyleBySisters

livin' right.... fashion, food & fun

