Invictus

This is the poem written byWilliam Ernest Henley:

Out of the night that covers me,
Black as the Pit from pole to pole,
I thank whatever gods may be
For my unconquerable soul.

In the fell clutch of circumstance
I have not winced nor cried aloud.
Under the bludgeonings of chance
My head is bloody, but unbowed.

Beyond this place of wrath and tears
Looms but the Horror of the shade,
And yet the menace of the years
Finds, and shall find, me unafraid.

It matters not how strait the gate,
How charged with punishments the scroll.
I am the master of my fate:
I am the captain of my soul.

The name is Invictus, meaning unconquered or undefeated. I just came back after watching the movie Invictus. In short, i can say the movie was Inspirational. The movie revolves around Nelson Mandela and his effort to make his team win the World Cup in the Rugby match. Why? Well, that is for you to find out from the movie. But, the message as we all can see is to Be one and Be Undefeated.

I am amazed thinking of Nelson Mandela, the person who plays an important role after the end of apartheid. Is it so easy for us to forget the differences? Some people can, but some need to be educated or brought to light. But, Nelson Mandela inspired everyone to let go off their differences. This has resulted in the co-existence of the Afrikaans with the Whites. A single person could do this change. It was not easy for him. It’s never easy to bring a change. But, trying is all it takes. We always think of changing our lives, think of doing many things. We may not succeed at first, but keep trying and be confident. Thats all it takes to achieve anything you want. There may be various other parameters to bring about the change, but if we don’t try, we never know what the result would be. Nelson Mandela tried and made a difference. As the movie ends, i heard Nelson Mandela (well played by Morgan Freeman), say “I am the master of my fate. I am the captain of my soul.”

The movie was inspiring. I have to see what i make of it. 😀

<!—->

Invictus
<!–

#24
in Top500

–>

User Rating:
9.3 /10
(142 votes)
– vote – 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Out of the night that covers me,
Black as the Pit from pole to pole,
I thank whatever gods may be
For my unconquerable soul.

In the fell clutch of circumstance
I have not winced nor cried aloud.
Under the bludgeonings of chance
My head is bloody, but unbowed.

Beyond this place of wrath and tears
Looms but the Horror of the shade,
And yet the menace of the years
Finds, and shall find, me unafraid.

It matters not how strait the gate,
How charged with punishments the scroll.
I am the master of my fate:
I am the captain of my soul.

About Anitha Mallya
Find it from my blog :)

Leave a Reply

mybodymytime

The time is now.

StyleBySisters

livin' right.... fashion, food & fun

