How to: Clean Hair brushes

I have been meaning to post this post for a while. Today I finally got a chance to take some pics and write about it. This is the first of the How To series. If you like it, please let me know so I can do more.

Everyone has this problem, once you have a hair brush it gets dirty and cleaning it is a mess in itself. Here are a few steps I followed which made it easy for me. In this post, I am using my oval cushion brush from Revlon. I love this brush, it adds shine to my hair and when it became dirty, I felt sad not knowing how to clean it. I could get almost all of the hair out, but the dirt on the bristles was another issue.

Here are the things needed:
image
Yep, you need a hair brush first. :) This method can be used to all the hairbrushes (as far as I can say). I have tried it with my flat comb too. It’s easy and little to no effort. The second thing you need is dish washing detergent or a shampoo. I used Dawn dish washing foam, for my first trial as I thought it would get the dirt as well as oils out of the brush. The third thing you need is an old toothbrush. The last and important thing is a bowl of warm water or a sink. I used a sink.

Steps to follow:
Even though I did not get to grab a pic, first and foremost you need to get all the hair trapped in the brush, out. I used toothpicks, scissors anything small and flat that can get through the bristles to the base of the comb. Get all the hair out. Then follow these steps.
image
Step 1: Fill up your sink or bowl with hot water and add some drops of Dawn or Shampoo to it. Dip your hair brush and toothbrush in and start scrubbing. (I applied some of the Dawn foam as a toothpaste to the toothbrush and then, brushed through the bristles). I brushed for a good 5 minutes in every angle possible and tried to reach every nook and corner of the bristles (This was my first time and I wanted to be thorough)
Step 2: Leave your brush in the sink/bowl for 10 min.
Step 3: Take the brush out, rinse it in clean water and dry it out an a clean towel. I used a paper towel. Let it dry overnight. (time to dry may be more or less depending on the type of hair brushes/combs)

Result:
Next morning, Tada!!! My brush was back to its former glory. I was so happy to see it clean and shiny.
image

Yep, my brush was really dirty as you can see in the picture, and I was using its substitute for a while now. So, I can use my old brush while I get the new one cleaned. That’s the way to do it, don’t you think?

Please feel free to comment and like this post, if you found it useful. :)
Follow me on Twitter @anithamallya and on instagram @anithaprabhu

About Anitha Mallya
Find it from my blog :)

42 Responses to How to: Clean Hair brushes

  1. Sarah says:

    After getting as much hair out as possible, I run it through the dishwasher in the top rack. Comes out sparkling clean every time!

    • kate says:

      I’m a hairdresser, and I have lots of dirty brushes to deal with. Don’t want to gross anybody out, but after removing as much hair as possible, I throw them in the washing machine with my shop towels. Perfectly clean!!

      • Amy says:

        not gross and sounds like a great idea for the home too!!!

      • I have always washed mine in with my white clothes so they get bleached too. My mother did this when I was a small child, I’m still using the same Modern Method hair brush for 30 years, so I know it will not harm it. I don’t think they make this brush any more, if anyone knows if they are still made let me know. It was a simular company like Stanley or Fuller brush company.

      • Nancy says:

        Yep, this is what I do with mine also. Not a hairdresser just picked this tip up some place.

  2. Debbie Romero says:

    Anitha
    Great idea. I also keep the hair out by cleaning it every time I use my brush. But the dirt is impossible to remove. I plan on using this on mine. Thanks.
    Debbie

  3. Mary Ellen says:

    I let the brush or comb soak for awhile then drain the dirty water and use the toothbrush for removing residual dirt.

  4. Jane PGN says:

    Instead of dish soap. I use shampoo. It also, does a great job of cleasning.

  5. Lori says:

    How about soaking combs and brushes in ammonia. They come out great. My grandmother used to clean them this way.

    • Pat says:

      Yup; that’s the way my mom taught me years ago. She would pour some ammonia into really hot water in the sink. Soak while cleaning either taking a bath or cleaning the bathroom, rinse, pat dry onto towel upside down so most of water comes out from around the base of the bristles, then I dry them quickly using a blow dryer for a few short minutes.

    • My mom did that, too. Can you still buy ammonia in stores? LOL I swear, I haven’t seen any. Haven’t looked, of course…

  6. jayn says:

    I use another hairbrush to get the hair off. Just brush the brush bottom to top a few times. You can dehair both brushes at once.

  7. Joyce says:

    These are good solutions, but, I’m just, how should I say it..I got it…too lazy for anything more than getting it done as painlessly as possible. I’m also known as the recycle police in my house, so when there’s a run in my (always once worn) pantyhose, I cut a piece large enough to go around the hair brush and secure it over the bristles. When it’s time, I remove the hose toss it and I’m done.

    • PetiteD says:

      I always used to do that method until I started using these paddle brushes. Pantyhose just doesn’t go over them like a regular brush. Pity, ’cause I’m lazy too.

  8. Karen says:

    This is brilliant! Worked wonderfully -thank you!

  9. Pingback: How to clean your brush in minutes! | Made From Pinterest

  10. Pingback: How To Clean (Almost) Anything And Everything | GossipViews.com

  11. Alison says:

    After washing, I put my brush in some clean water with a little conditioner. Then dry it off. The conditioner helps to stop the brush making your hair static when you use it

  12. I use a salad fork to remove the hair from my brush. While I am showering and washing my hair, I add some shampoo to the brush and rub my fingers along the bristles and make it very sudsy. Then rinse well. My brush is always clean and it gets rid of any dirt in or around my fingernails at the same time. I use a porcupine brush with two types of bristle and I have found this to work better than anything else to keep it clean. I used to soak it in vinegar and scrub it as you suggested in the sink with soap, water and a toothbrush, but doing it while I shower is quicker, easier and a more efficient use of my time.

  13. Pingback: Jeobox – How To Clean (Almost) Anything And Everything

  14. I put baking soda in a tall glass, add my brush and combs, add boiling water and let it sit. Rinse brush out and repeat if needed.

  15. Pingback: How To Clean (Almost) Anything And Everything!

  16. I find using the brush used to apply hair dye the best and least awkward. The length of the bristles get easily inbetween the hair brush bristles and the pointy end can be used to get the hair out of it first.

  17. Donna Pieron says:

    I’ve always poured some ammonia into the sink, add some hot water and let the combs and brushes soak for about an hour. Then rinse and air dry on a towel. No scrubbing necessary. My mother used to do this.

  18. Ciara says:

    How often should you clean your hairbrush?

    • I try to clean my brushes once a month or whenever I find them dirty. I have 2 hair brushes that I love and I use them alternatively. When I clean one brush, I use the other till it gets dirty.

  19. Pingback: 15 Cleaning Hacks Everyone Should Know

  20. Kimi Denise Cone says:

    THANK YOU VERY MUCH FOR THE ADVICE ON HOW TO CLEAN MY HAIR BRUSH!!! IT WORKED AWESOME!!!

  21. Brittni says:

    This is brilliant, I have the exact brush and needed this so badly. Thanks!

  22. Pingback: Thoroughly Clean a Hair Brush with a Toothbrush | The Cannabis Strain Directory Blog

  23. Pingback: Thoroughly Clean a Hair Brush with a Toothbrush – Lifehacker | Expensive Makeup

  24. Pingback: Thoroughly Clean a Hair Brush with a Toothbrush – Lifehacker | body care market

  25. Pingback: Thoroughly Clean a Hair Brush with a Toothbrush – Lifehacker | top beauty mart

  26. Pingback: Thoroughly Clean a Hair Brush with a Toothbrush – Lifehacker | Bath And Body For Women

  27. Pingback: Thoroughly Clean a Hair Brush with a Toothbrush – Lifehacker | Hair deals today

  28. Pingback: Thoroughly Clean A Hair Brush With A Toothbrush | Lifehacker Australia

  29. Karen Jarrell says:

    I put all of our brushes in the washing machine with the laundry.Comes out clean free of dirt

  30. Jeanette Andrus says:

    A comb with a long pointed end is good to clean the hair out

  31. carol says:

    hot water a splash of bleach and leave in sink overnight and it is perfect in the morning

  32. Bonnie says:

    I put my brushes in the sink with hot water and dawn dishwashing liquid after getting as much hair out as I can, then I let them set and soak while I do other things. When I go back, I just rinse and dry. Perfectly clean!

  33. Maah says:

    i had a cushion brush with wooden bristles. Quite luxurious but couldn’t wash it without water seeping inside the cushion through the air hole. Soak? Not a chance. Thanks for the hack.

Leave a Reply

mybodymytime

The time is now.

StyleBySisters

livin' right.... fashion, food & fun

le zoe musings

Love to Create. Hope to Inspire.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 104 other followers

